RSS Feed

A Birthday Dinner

Today was a cookin’ kinda day! With the rain falling outside & a warm house, it was a perfect day to spend in the kitchen. But, it being Saturday, I did sleep in! πŸ™‚ Ahh, the joys of the weekend! Anyyyways…. here’s the menu [& actually, a lot of the credit goes to my mom]:
Spicy Pop Pulled Pork (Recipe from Ree Drummond a.k.a. “The Pioneer Woman)
Au Gratin Potatoes (Recipe also from Ree Drummond)
Brussel Sprouts
Rolls
& the very best part… Grandma Gorman’s Chocolate Cake!!!! Yes yes! You heard me! Chocolate cakee! Mmm mmm!!!
So pretty much what we did with the pork was cooked it for a few hours with some onions, carrots, & red chili peppers! πŸ™‚ It was very good… yes! It was delightful! There was a little kick of spice to it, but not too much. Just enough to make your mouth go *POP*!
As far the the Au Gratin potatoes go… well, just try to recipe. It’s worth it!
What we did with the brussel sprouts was we put a little grapeseed oil on top of them & baked them in the oven. They were very good!
So… lets get real you guys… the cake! What I did was started with melting down some unsweetened chocolate & butter. As that was happening, I whipped up some eggs & sugar into a creamy little sugary goodness [:)]. Then I got a bowl & mixed the flour & salt together, then in another bowl, I got the milk & baking soda stirred together. Once the chocolate was melted, I added that into the egg & sugar mixture. Then added the flour & milk into that. Divided the batter into two pans & popped it into the oven!
While the cakes were baking, I cleaned the kitchen (twice!) & helped out with some other things. Then the cakes come out & cooled. While they were cooling I made the Β frosting! So, before I tell you how I made it, I’m going to write this as a note to self if I ever make this again… even if you don’t think it’s big deal about sifting the powdered sugar or not… just go ahead & do it. I didn’t sift the powdered sugar before I started mixing everything together, but I should have. You ALWAYS have to sift it. Anyways, so I mixed powdered sugar, butter, cocoa powder, & heavy cream, & made a wonderful, gorgeous, delicious frosting!
Then, I frosted the cake! πŸ™‚ & it turned out GAWGEOUS BABY! (even with the un-sifted flour!) πŸ˜‰
Sooo… you’re probably wondering what we’re doing with all this good. Well, my grandpa’s birthday was last Thursday, so we had my grandparents over for dinner! It was quite a good dinner, & we had a great time with them. πŸ™‚ & an upside… there is a TON of leftovers! πŸ˜€ Have I ever mentioned I love cooking?! Well, I do!

Leave a Reply

