RSS Feed

Thanksgiving!

So, a few days ago was one of my favorite holidays! Thanksgiving. And I bet you can’t guess why!!! Well, it’s kind of obvious… you get to cook a lot. And I mean, a LOT!! This was actually my first year cooking EVERYTHING. But, it was really fun! I’ll tell you what I did.

First I made Mashed baked. Oh, well that’s in another post, so if you’re interested… you’ll find it in a past post.

Next was sweet potato casserole. I started by baking 2 and half pounds of sweet potatoes. I washed, poked, then put them on a pan and cooked them for 40 minutes. Then they were nice and soft, and easy to work with, and get out of the skin.  So, I scooped all the sweetness out from the skin, then sort of started mashing them, just a little to get it ready for mixing in other things. Then I added milk, eggs, and other things that sorry to say, I can’t remember. But I mashed the rest of the ingredients, and then it turned out to be really good. I cooked them the next day (on Thanksgiving).
Next was… oh lets see;  Pumpkin Pie. That was really really easy! I mixed one can of pumpkin puree, and one can of evaporated milk, and then one egg. Yeah, I decided to go easy this year with the pie. But it was still good.
All those things I did the day before thanksgiving… but then I, on the next day. The next day, I made a 17 pound turkey. Which, yes, I am very proud of!!! It was a Cranberry Glazed Turkey. And it was VERY good! I started by washing my turkey, and getting all the giblets and neck out. Then I rubbed it in butter (That’s for you Paula Deen!),  turkey rub, and salt and pepper. Then my mom cut up different kinds of potatoes, and carrots, and yummy vegetables. I put those in the bottom of the roasting pan, then stuck my turkey in the pan, and roasted it for 2 and a half hours. While that was going, I made the glaze. That was super easy too. I sautéed one onion for 5 minutes, then added one can of cranberry sauce. I melted all that, and it made a DELICIOUS sauce. The turkey was done with its first round of roasting. Then when it came out I put the glaze on it, and cooked it for 1 more hour. Then it was done! And really really good! It was perfect!!!

I cooked both kinds of potatoes, and made some green beans, and rolls, and dinner was finished! And delicious I might add! It was amazing! And it was really nice to be able to share it with my family. I made something out of Get in There and Cook for thanksgiving, so I will do its own little post for that. I hope everyone had a good thanksgiving! I know I did!

2 responses »

  1. Girl you are so amazing. THat is so wonderful that you took on the whole dinner. WOW!
    I think I am gonna adopt your turkey recipe for next year. I love the sound of that Cranberry glaze. Sounds so yummy!
    I am plannin to make the corn pudding this week. I went to the store today and got everything so I will be making it soon. OK take care and stay in touch
    Love Ya Grandma Jan

    Reply
    • Thanks!! That’s so cool! I’m sure you’ll like it! The cook book is just great! I’ve loved every recipe in it! Yes, you will definitely like that turkey. It was really really really reallyyyy Good!!!! Okay, will do!
      Love you too,
      Dana

      Reply

Leave a Reply

